As I have said on the about page, I had no idea what I was coming into. One things was clear to me when I signed up to my second Galaxy was I needed a coach.

I have worked with two amazing companies, The London School of Pageantry and Feel Like A Queen Coaching, both of which I love. The key thing to remember in pageantry, as with life, is there’s always more to learn. The moment you think you know it all, is the moment you loose in life. This is exactly where I was in life a few years ago and since opening my eyes and ears and shutting my mouth more, I have learnt and grown way beyond what I thought was possible.

Having a coach gives you a reliable source of pageantry information. While I try my best on here, my professional expertise in fitness, health and wellbeing. Whereas a pageant coaches, professional expertise is pageantry. Make sure you do your research before picking one and find one that works well for you, as well as for the pageant system you are competing in. If your coach one the international crown for the pageant you want to win, she is much more likely to know how to get you there, as she has done it before. One of my favourite says is, “find someone who has done what you want to do, and copy them.” Please note this doesn’t mean coping who they are, just how they did it.

Don’t think you know better, it blocks up your ears. Take the information on board and compare it to your own thoughts, check your facts, then move forward. Take notes, take more notes and take some notes again. Then read, reread and read once more for good measure. Most good coaches will also give you some sort of training pack. Print it out, make more notes on it, sleep with it under your pillow.

Maybe someone you admire in the pageant world isn’t a coach. Try asking them for advice or to be your mentor. My highest placing to date is top 10, but I am still asked for advice on one thing or another. Asking the one in the crown anything, when you are new to pageantry is super scary. I’m the first to say if I don’t know, or I will give advice, but recommend you double check it first. I never tell something as fact unless I full believe it to be true, but we can all get it wrong from time to time.

My one beware is watch out for advise from people in the same category at the same pageant as you. One of the reasons I love Galaxy is that being a Galaxy Girl is amazing. The girls are so supportive and anything else is hugely frowned upon. However, some girls may be new to it, might be overly competitive or it might be different in the pageant you are competing in. I have seen bitterness and spite in another pageant system, so I know it happens and from what I hear (please don’t quote me) its often the midsized pageants, where girls have entered for the wrong reasons. Understandably it is a competition, and no one is going to give away all of their secrets, that’s just silly. To be fair and not put another young lady in an awkward position, always ask someone from a different age group and not someone who is new. Even better try and find someone who has just moved up and out of your age group.

There will be a list of pageant coaches appearing on the directory page very soon!

