So you have received your acceptance letter, finally your sash arrives and last but not least your finalist pack. Then it finally hits you, now the hard work really begins.

If you follow me on social media you could be lured into thinking I am just pageants, but I am here to reassure you, I also run my own businesses, train 5 plus times a week and make time for my favourite person, my man. On occasion I’ve even been accused of having a social life and I try to attend most of my families special occasions. The key is planning and staying on top of your work load.

Don’t leave it to the last minute. Don’t put off until tomorrow, what you can do today. I say this time and again. Something will come up tomorrow and you will end up in a tiss. I wish I had known and applied this back at school.

Know what matters. I mucked this one up big time last year. I wasted a lot of time on things that in the end, added little to nothing. This could be a charity event, that was clearly never going to make any money, or trying to organize a social event no one could attend. I was doing the same thing in my work too. I am now a lot better at asking myself why am I doing this or that. This could be as simple as watching an episode of The Hills, why am I watching this. If its because I’m broken and I need a time out, then I will carry on. But if it is because I am being a lazy slob, I pick myself up and get on with what actually needs to doing.

Stay Motivated. Being able to stick to what matters, can be a clear sign of how much you want your end goal, but we all need a bit of motivation on those tough days. Try having a few lines saved in your phone, of why you want this or a motivation playlist on Spotify. You could create a “why” board or save your favourite pageant queen as your screen saver.

Little and often. Stay on top of the little jobs, like up dating your appearance folder, or social media. Grabbing the little spare moments and putting them to good use is a great way to stay on top of all that pageant paperwork.

Get a diary. I run my life off my phones diary, which also syncs with both my laptop and my Facebook, so when I accept an event on Facebook it automatically updates onto my diary. Be very careful of double booking and don’t forget to allow not just travel time, but time to get ready before hand too. Arriving looking your best will really help your confidence. I also track my appearances on a wall chart. I’m using a school year one, so it covers the dates I need.

Always remember planning makes everything easier, but there will always be the odd things that will pop up. Take it in your side and don’t let it stress you out.

It may all seem like a lot of work, but it’s great training for all the work the reigning queens are doing and how much work you will have to do, when you win your crown.Time to

